district home
parent portal
school nutrition
bus routes
View Woodward Elementary
Homepage
About Us
Administration
Academics
Staff
Media Center
Fourth Grade ESOL Learners get up Close and Personal at Fernbank

Embed

<video autoplay controls id="fbeb370f-09b1-44d9-a35a-abe1f82d21b8" class="video-js vjs-default-skin vjs-big-play-centered video-js-fullscreen" preload="metadata" poster="http://woodwardes.dekalb.k12.ga.us/VideoUp/fbeb370f-09b1-44d9-a35a-abe1f82d21b8.mp4.jpg" data-setup='{ "autoplay": true, "controls": true, "muted": false, "loop": false, "loadingSpinner": false, "fluid": true, "techOrder": ["html5","flash"], "ga": {"eventsToTrack": ["start"]} }'> <source src="http://woodwardes.dekalb.k12.ga.us/VideoUp/fbeb370f-09b1-44d9-a35a-abe1f82d21b8.mp4.mp4" type="video/mp4"> <source src="http://woodwardes.dekalb.k12.ga.us/VideoUp/fbeb370f-09b1-44d9-a35a-abe1f82d21b8.mp4.ogv" type="video/ogg"> <p class="vjs-no-js">To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that <a href="http://videojs.com/html5-video-support/" target="_blank" ">supports HTML5 video</a></p> </video>

 

Parents and Students,

On behalf of the ESOL Department at Woodward Elementary School, we are excited to welcome you to the 2017-18 school year! We are looking forward to a productive partnership with you to ensure our children can achieve great success in language development. We recognize that in order to be successful in school, our children need support from both home and school. We know a strong partnership with you will make a great difference in your child’s educational career.

As partners, we share the responsibility of our children’s success and want you to know that we will do our very best to carry out our responsibilities.   We ask that you guide and support your child’s learning by ensuring that he/she:

  1. Attends school daily, arrive on time, and be ready for the day’s learning experiences.
  2. Complete all assignments given by their ESOL and Homeroom teachers.
  3. Read daily (in their native language and or English) to develop a love for reading and improve literacy skills.
  4. Share his/her daily school experiences with you. (this will develop oral language and keep you aware of his or her school life).
  5. Inform you that he/she needs additional support in any area or subject.
  6. Know that you expect him/her to succeed in school and go to college.

Thank you for your continuous support. Let’s have an awesome school year!

Sincerely,

 

Robin Thomas

ESOL Chairperson

 
Interactive Websites to Use at Home!  
 
 
 
 
 

 

Upcoming Events
 
                                                        English Classes Click Here!
 
 
Parent Websites for the ACCESS Test:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Candace Carr
Teacher, ESOL
candace_n_carr@dekalbschoolsga.org
Katherine Herbert
Teacher, ESOL
katherine_e_herbert@dekalbschoolsga.org
Cecilye Lowe
Teacher, EIP/ESOL Math
Cecilye_J_Lowe@dekalbschoolsga.org
Sharilyn Metellus
Teacher, ESOL
Sharilyn_Metellus@dekalbschoolsga.org
Diana Mitchell
Teacher, ESOL
Diana_Mitchell@dekalbschoolsga.org
Angela Page
Teacher, ESOL
ANGELA_G_PAGE@dekalbschoolsga.org
Carol Penhollow
Teacher, ESOL
Carol_E_Penhollow@dekalbschoolsga.org
Robin Simmons-Thomas
Teacher, ESOL
ROBIN_D_SIMMONS@dekalbschoolsga.org
Candi Smith
Teacher, Gifted
CANDI_S_SMITH@dekalbschoolsga.org
Website
Marissa Stewart
Teacher, ESOL
marissa_r_anthony@dekalbschoolsga.org
Sherrene Washington
Teacher, ESOL
Sherrene_Washington@dekalbschoolsga.org
Roxana Withers
Teacher, ESOL
Roxana_withers@dekalbschoolsga.org
District Home      |       Parents      |       School Nutrition      |       Bus Routes