The English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) department of Woodward Elementary is committed to providing a comprehensive educational experience for all English Language Learners in collaboration with the local school community, families, and all key stakeholders. This year, the ESOL teachers have been given an awesome charge to teach with purpose, passion, and performance. We accept this responsibility and are devoted to delivering quality instruction, guidance, assistance, and support to our English Language Learner (ELL) population. We support the vision of our district and strive to produce students who are proficient in academic content and achieve high standards as a community of life-long learners.

Our Mission:

* To provide all students with the academic and social skills necessary to ensure productive life-long learning through a student-centered and differentiated instructional approach via a supportive and highly qualified school staff

* To provide services to international parents and students with language barriers to ensure that students become proficient in core content areas based on research-based strategies and standards based instruction

* To promote ongoing parental and community involvement in language acquisition activities

* To provide ongoing staff development for ESOL teachers, content area teachers, and paraprofessionals

Interactive Websites to Use at Home!  
 
 
 

Upcoming Events

December 15th - School Holiday Performance
December 20th - BETA Club Induction
December 21st - Mentor/Mentee Luncheon
 
**January 21st ACCESS Test for ELLs - This is a summative test that will be administered to all ELL students in grades K-5. The test assesses each student's English acquisition.
 
Parent Websites for the ACCESS Test:
 
 
 
 
ESOL Teachers on a Field Trip to the Atlanta Botanical Gardens with 1st Grade! 
  
 
 
 
Candace Carr
Teacher, ESOL
candace_n_carr@dekalbschoolsga.org
Katherine Herbert
Teacher, ESOL
katherine_e_herbert@dekalbschoolsga.org
Cecilye Lowe
Teacher, EIP/ESOL Math
Cecilye_J_Lowe@dekalbschoolsga.org
Sharilyn Metellus
Teacher, ESOL
Sharilyn_Metellus@dekalbschoolsga.org
Diana Mitchell
Teacher, ESOL
Diana_Mitchell@dekalbschoolsga.org
Angela Page
Teacher, ESOL
ANGELA_G_PAGE@dekalbschoolsga.org
Carol Penhollow
Teacher, ESOL
Carol_E_Penhollow@dekalbschoolsga.org
Robin Simmons-Thomas
Teacher, ESOL
ROBIN_D_SIMMONS@dekalbschoolsga.org
Candi Smith
Teacher, Gifted
CANDI_S_SMITH@dekalbschoolsga.org
Website
Marissa Stewart
Teacher, ESOL
marissa_r_anthony@dekalbschoolsga.org
Sherrene Washington
Teacher, ESOL
Sherrene_Washington@dekalbschoolsga.org
Roxana Withers
Teacher, ESOL
Roxana_withers@dekalbschoolsga.org
District Home      |       Parents      |       School Nutrition      |       Bus Routes
Quick-Edit Login